Return to Headlines

Valley Drama Presents 'Peter and the Starcatcher' Nov. 4-6 (11/01/22)

Nov. 1, 2022 | Valley High School's Drama Family presents "Peter and the Starcatcher," based on Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson’s best-selling novels featuring the beloved character Peter Pan.


Valley High School "Peter and the Starcatcher" fall 2022 play poster.Directed by Valley Drama Director Aaron Westrum, the Tony Award-winning play upends the century-old story of how a miserable orphan boy becomes the legendary Peter Pan. A young orphan and his mates are shipped off from Victorian England to a distant island ruled by an evil king. The boys are discovered by a precocious young girl named Molly, a Starcatcher-in-training who realizes the ship’s mysterious cargo is starstuff, a celestial substance so powerful that it must never fall into the wrong hands. When the ship is taken over by pirates — led by the fearsome Black Stache, a villain determined to claim the trunk and its treasure for his own — the journey quickly becomes a thrilling adventure.


More than 100 Valley High School students and staff make up the cast and crew. A full cast and crew list can be found below.


Performances are at 7 p.m. on Nov. 4 and Nov. 5, and at 2 p.m. on Nov. 6, in the Staplin Performing Arts Center, Valley High School, 3650 Woodland Avenue, West Des Moines. Tickets cost $15 for adults and $10 for students and seniors. Tickets can be purchased online at


To learn more about the Valley Drama Family, please visit


Play description adapted from Music Theater International.


Cast and Crew List


  • Sailor/Mollusk/Camp: Rylann Abbas
  • Alf: Janse Barkley
  • Sailor: Jaryn Barkley
  • Sailor/Mollusk: Alexandra Bylund
  • Orphan: Reagan Calder
  • Orphan/Mermaid: Kate Carlson
  • Mrs. Bumbrake : Marisa Cravero
  • Orphan: Carmin Daughtery
  • Narrator: Alyssa Dougherty
  • Lord Aster: Andrew Dunahoo
  • Sailor/Orphan: AudenEaton
  • Prentiss: Mar Feitelson
  • Mack/Crew: Dillon Forney
  • Fighting Prawn: Matthew Frantsuzhan
  • Teacher/Sailor: Zoë Fredregill 
  • Pirate/Mermaid: Maarz Friesleben
  • Smee: Henry Golay
  • Ted: Parker Hanser
  • Pirate/Mollusk: Hanna Hardy
  • Sailor: Piper Harris
  • Narrator: Olivia Heller
  • Peter: Tyndal Hervey
  • Pirate: Jude Hogue
  • Pirate/Mermaid: Minna Horak-Hult
  • Sailor: Ava Horton
  • Pirate/Mollusk: Daltry Hughes
  • Sailor/Mermaid: Danika Jacobsen
  • Sailor/Mermaid: Bette Jess
  • Sailor/Mollusk/Crew: Sam Johnson
  • Narrator: Lila Khan
  • Pirate: Emily Kramer
  • Hawking Clam: Maryellen Lerg
  • Orphan: Kaylee Lillibridge
  • Orphan: Molly: Catherine May
  • Black Stache: Michael Mcauliff
  • Sailor/Mollusk: Isabel Morgan
  • Pirate/Mollusk: Claire Neuendorf
  • Pirate/Mermaid/Mollusk: Carly Penick
  • Mermaid: Selah Reels
  • Orphan: Jadyn Reis
  • Narrator: Caroline Reynolds
  • Sanchez: Uriel Rodriguez
  • Pirate/Mollusk: Ash Scarbrough
  • Captain Scott: Samson Shafer
  • Pirate/Mollusk: Max Smith 
  • Sailor: Faye Stephens
  • Sailor/Mermaid: Aaliyah Trimble
  • Pirate/Mollusk: Brennan Thomas-McGinnis
  • Grempkin/Pirate: Lillian Tuai
  • Sailor/Mermaid: Evie Tucker
  • Pirate/Mollusk: Jace WallaceSlank: Holden Westman
  • Pirate/Paint Crew: Mia Wychulis

Camp Crew (Costumes, Advertising, Make-Up, Props)

  • Props: Alec Barber
  • Props: Jaxon Borth
  • Make-Up Master: Malini De Jong
  • Props: Kai Eamphong
  • Props: Sonja Henderson
  • Camp: Maddie Hockmuth
  • Camp: Jocee Johnson
  • Props: Saylar Killough-Wilhelm
  • Props: Hailey Locke
  • Costume Master: Wren Moon
  • Camp: Mel Munoz
  • Publicity: Lillian Nourse-Elizondo
  • Camp: Shanel Sayre
  • Camp: Ash Scarbrough
  • Props: Moon Spangler
  • Props Master: Jordan Stockham
  • Props: Jasmine Wong


Technical Crew (Lights, Set, Sound)

  • Assistant Stage Manager: Wyatt Belden
  • Master Electrician: Eli Bettenhausen
  • Head Stage Manager: Emily Boehnke
  • Assistant Stage Manager: Riley Burnette
  • Flyrail: Lola Costello
  • Stage Manager: Delaney Decamp
  • Crew: Sarah Eichstedt
  • Crew: Kai Eilers
  • Stage Manager: Mya Fell
  • Master Carpenter: Alec Ferchen
  • Crew: Xander Harms
  • Crew: Ashley Heinen
  • Crew: Leif Horak-Hult
  • Crew: Taylor Johnson
  • Assistant Paint Charge: Julia Krob
  • Crew: August Kvederis
  • Assistant Master Electrician: Jaden Ladd
  • Crew: Asher Lane
  • Crew: Ella Leistner
  • Assistant Master Electrician: Rachel Manning
  • Crew: Lynda Reineke
  • Crew: Melina Reverol
  • Stage Manager: Lilly Rindfuss
  • Flyrail: Gabe Rodenkirk
  • Crew: Jonathan Ruth
  • Stage Manager: Luca Sanchez
  • Co-Lighting Director: Max Shrum
  • Head Paint Charge: Raeann Sullivan
  • Crew: Izzie Tadlock
  • Master Carpenter: Dylan Topic
  • Crew: India Tuai
  • Sound Board: Delaney Turner
  • Assistant Master Electrician: Anna Uzel
  • Assistant Paint Charge: Haley Wince


  • Director: Mr. Aaron Westrum
  • Assistant Director/Choreographer: Ms. Samantha Melz
  • Tech Director: Ms. Amanda Pichler
  • Camp Director: Ms. Cathy Divine-Koch
  • Assistant Tech. Director: Mr. Darin Webb
  • Publicity Director: Mr. Scott Voogd