Return to Headlines

WDMCS Welcomes 10 New Administrators for 2023-24 (07/19/2023)

July 19, 2023 | West Des Moines Community Schools (WDMCS) welcomes 10 new administrators for the 2023-24 school year. Learn more about these building and district leaders before the first day of school:

Amy Kolln is New Early Childhood Special Education and Preschool Program Administrator

Amy Kolln comes to WDMCS from Terrace Learning Center with Ankeny Community School District, where she served as principal since 2020. She has also served as coordinator of preschool programs for Ankeny, school improvement leader with Des Moines Public Schools, and early childhood coordinator for Southeast Polk Community School District. Amy began her career as a kindergarten teacher. 

Amy earned her Bachelor of Science degree in early childhood education from Iowa State University, followed by a Master of Science degree in educational leadership from Drake University. 



Jon Mendoza is New Crestview School of Inquiry Principal

Jon Mendoza previously served as the principal and director of the Virtual campus Online School with Des Moines Public Schools. He spent the past five years within the DMPS system, first as a director of digital literacy and online learning before transitioning to the principal and director role in 2019. Prior to joining DMPS, Mendoza spent several years teaching elementary students and coaching high school athletes at various school districts in Iowa. He also served as a K-12 Technology Integrationist during his time teaching elementary at Van Meter.

Jon received his elementary education bachelor of arts degree from Central College, followed by a master of science in education administration with principalship from Northwestern College. Mendoza is currently working towards his educational specialist degree in K-12 superintendency through Northwest Missouri State University.


Tamara Tjeerdsma is Westridge Elementary Interim Principal

A familiar face in the West Des Moines Community Schools, Tamara Tjeerdsma will serve as interim principal of Westridge for the 2023-24 school year after officially retiring at the end of the 2022-23 year. She served as director of Crestview School of Inquiry for four years and assistant principal of Jordan Creek and Westridge elementaries for four years. She previously taught elementary school for 18 years, 10 of those years in the WDMCS district. She has served on many district-level committees and was a finalist for the Iowa Teacher of the Year award from the Iowa Department of Education. The interim principal position will allow WDMCS the opportunity to find a principal who will be the best fit for Westridge.



WDMCS Welcomes Assistant Principals for All Elementaries 

The WDMCS Board of Education approved 10-month assistant principals for all of our elementary schools beginning in 2023-24 in January 2023. District leadership requested the additional principal roles to provide consistent support and leadership across all eight of our elementary schools. Jordan Creek and Westridge elementary schools previously shared an assistant principal position as the two elementaries with the highest enrollment.    

 Please join WDMCS in welcoming:   

  • Dana Allen as Clive Learning Academy Assistant Principal  
  • Sue Lawler as Crestview School of Inquiry Assistant Principal
  • Emily Backus as Crossroads Park Elementary Assistant Principal  
  • Leah Holcomb as Fairmeadows Elementary Assistant Principal  
  • Jackson Anderson as Hillside Elementary Assistant Principal  
  • Jeanette Barnes as Jordan Creek Elementary Assistant Principal  
  • Erin Willoughby as Western Hills Elementary Assistant Principal  
  • Tyson Heuton as Westridge Elementary Assistant Principal  

Read more about the new assistant principals