Return to Headlines

Thirteen Valley High School Students Named 2022 National Merit Semifinalists (09/15/21)

Sept. 15, 2021 | West Des Moines Community Schools (WDMCS) is proud to announce that 13 Valley High School students have been named 2022 National Merit Scholarship semifinalists. 

Congratulations to seniors Paul Anderson, Neha Bhargava, Nathaniel Connolly, Noemie Dhont, Mia Dukle, Uma Dukle, Claire Gilbert, Kristin He, Andrew Hedrick, Fynlan Nadel, William Pixley, Malone Trullinger, and Elaine Wang. The students will now be considered for National Merit Scholarship finalist standing.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced the names of approximately 16,000 semifinalists in the 67th Annual National Merit Scholarship Program on Sept. 15. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million that will be offered next spring. 

To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition. Over 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and about half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title. National Merit Scholarship winners of 2022 will be announced beginning in April and concluding in July.

These scholarship recipients may join the more than 90 National Merit Scholarship finalists who have attended Valley High School in the past 10 years.

2022 national merit scholarship semifinalists