Return to Headlines

WDMCS 2023 School Board Election Results (11/08/2023)

Nov. 8, 2023 | School Board elections were held Tuesday, Nov. 7, throughout the state of Iowa.

In the West Des Moines Community Schools (WDMCS), four seats were open and eight candidates campaigned for election. Unofficial election returns show Michael Andreski, Elizabeth Larson, and incumbents Jill Caton Johnson, Ph.D., and Jeff Hicks, as the winners of the election.

"I am excited to begin working with all the members of the Board to continue the tradition of excellence in our schools," Andreski said. "I am also looking forward to working with the professionals dedicated to educating our students as well as representing the many involved parents as we work to make our schools welcoming for all students. I've never been prouder to be a graduate of the West Des Moines Community Schools!"

The Board members will be sworn in on Monday, Nov. 27. Learn more about our newly-elected members.

The WDMCS Board is made up of a total of seven members. In addition to those listed above, members also include incoming president Lila Starr, Fannette Elliott, Anadelia Morgan, and student representatives Alexandra Bylund and Riley Spellman.

The School Board

The WDMCS Board of Education represents the families and citizens of our community. WDMCS Board members are elected at-large, which means they represent the entire school district. Each school board member is elected for a term of four years. Terms are staggered to ensure continuity of leadership. Board members do not receive any compensation for their service.