Return to Headlines

WDMCS School Board Election Results (11/3/2021)

Nov. 3, 2021 | School Board elections were held Tuesday, Nov. 2 throughout the state of Iowa.

In the West Des Moines Community Schools (WDMCS), three seats were open and seven candidates campaigned for election. Unofficial election returns show Lila Starr, Anadelia Morgan and Fannette Elliott as the winners of the election.

The new board members will be sworn in on Monday, Nov. 22. Learn more about our newly-elected members.

The WDMCS board is made up of a total of seven members. In addition to those listed above, members also include President Lonnie Dafney, Vice President Jeff Hicks, Jill Caton Johnson, Ph.D., and Liz Cox.

The School Board
The school board represents the parents and citizens of our community. The roles of the school board include:

  • Set policy for the school district.
  • Select an executive officer and delegate to that officer the authority for carrying out the policies, plans, and administrative details.
  • Determine the operational efficiency of the schools not only in dollars and cents but also in the results of instruction.

At WDMCS, school board members are elected at-large, or represent the entire school district. They receive no compensation for their service. Each school board member is elected for a term of four years. Terms are staggered to ensure continuity of leadership.