College Visits

2017-2018 College/Military Visits

This is the growing list of schools and institutions coming to Valley to visit with students this year. Students interested in meeting with admissions representatives should come to the Counseling Center to get a pass from Mrs. Maly if the visit is during their class period. Visits typically last 30-60 minutes, and absences will be excused as a college visit. (Completed visits are listed in orange.)

The name of each institution links you directly to the school or military branch website.

Date College/Military Branch Time
SECOND SEMESTER VISITS
Mon, 4/2/18 Hawkeye Community College (Waterloo, IA) 9am
Fri, 1/5/18 University of Iowa Hawkeye Hometown Visit (Iowa City, IA) – Valley graduate Madeline Smith (’14) will be here to visit with students about her experiences as a college student at Iowa 10am
FIRST SEMESTER VISITS
Thurs, 9/7/17 Simpson College (Indianola, IA) 2pm
Fri, 9/8/17 Vanderbilt University (Nashville, TN) 11:30am
Thurs, 9/14/17 Coe College (Cedar Rapids, IA) 10:30am
Mon, 9/18/17 Hawkeye Community College (Waterloo, IA) 9:30am
Mon, 9/18/17 University of Chicago (Chicago, IL) 10:30am
Wed, 9/20/17 University of Northern Iowa (Cedar Falls, IA) 1:15pm
Thurs, 9/21/17 Kalamazoo College (Kalamazoo, MI) 8:30am
Thurs, 9/21/17 St. Olaf College (Northfield, MN) 10:30am
Sun, 9/24/17 Golden Circle College Fair (Des Moines) 12:30pm
Mon, 9/25/17 Drury University (Springfield, MO) 8:30am
Mon, 9/25/17 University of Kansas (Lawrence, KS) 9:30am
Mon, 9/25/17 University of Missouri (Columbia, MO) 10:30am
Mon, 9/25/17 CANCELLED: University of Wisconsin-Madison (Madison, WI) 11:30am
Mon, 9/25/17 Bradley University (Peoria, IL) 2pm
Mon, 9/25/17 Villanova University (Villanova, PA) 2:30pm
Mon, 9/25/17 Join admission representatives from Emory University, Johns Hopkins University, the University of Notre Dame, the University of Virginia, and Washington University in St. Louis for a group presentation. Learn more about academic programs, student life, admission, and financial aid at these institutions. There will be time for questions and to meet representatives at the end.

Venue: Des Moines Art Center, 4700 Grand Avenue, Des Moines
Room: Levitt Auditorium

7:00pm
Tues, 9/26/17 WILL BE RESCHEDULED FOR SPRING 2018: Missouri Western State University (St. Joseph, MO) 8:30am
Wed, 9/27/17 University of Dubuque (Dubuque, IA) 9am
Wed, 9/27/17 Northwest Missouri State University (Maryville, MO) 10am
Wed, 9/27/17 U.S. Army Reserves Lunches
Wed, 9/27/17 Iowa Central Community College (Main Campus: Fort Dodge) 2pm
Wed, 9/27/17 Information Session Presented by Brown University, Columbia University, Cornell University, Rice University and the University of Chicago/ Des Moines Marriott Downtown/ 700 Grand Ave / Des Moines / For more information visit: exploringeducationalexcellence.org 7pm
Thurs, 9/28/17 Brown University (Providence, RI) 8:30am
Thurs, 9/28/17 Representatives from Claremont McKenna College, Grinnell College and Scripps College will present a program on the value of choosing a liberal arts education. / Location: Central Academy – Boardroom, 1800 Grand Ave, Des Moines / To register visit connect.cmc.edu/register/Iowa 6:00-8:00pm
Fri, 9/29/17 University of Iowa (Iowa City, IA) 9am
Mon, 10/2/17 RESCHEDULED FOR 10/11/17Central College (Pella, IA) 8:30am
Mon, 10/2/17 University of Central Missouri (Warrensburg, MO) 9:30am
Tues, 10/3/17 Grand View University (Des Moines, IA) 8:30am
Tues, 10/3/17 Aveda Institute (West Des Moines, IA) 10:45am
Tues, 10/3/17 Swarthmore College (Swarthmore, PA) 11:30am
Tues, 10/3/17 Drake University (Des Moines, IA) 12:30pm
Tues, 10/3/17 Grinnell College (Grinnell, IA) 1:30pm
Tues, 10/3/17 Iowa State University (Ames, IA) 2:30pm
Wed, 10/4/17 Cornell College (Mt. Vernon, IA) 8:30am
Wed, 10/4/17 Truman State University (Kirksville, MO) 11:30am
Wed, 10/4/17 Knox College (Galesburg, IL) 12:30pm
Wed, 10/4/17 University of Southern California (Los Angeles, CA) 1:30pm
Fri, 10/6/17 Yale University (New Haven, CT) 9am
Tues, 10/10/17 Creighton University (Omaha, NE) 8:30am
Wed, 10/11/17 St. Mary’s College (Notre Dame, IN) 8:30am
Wed, 10/11/17 Hamline University (St. Paul, MN) 10:30am
Wed, 10/11/17 NEW DATE: Central College (Pella, IA) 11:30am
Thurs, 10/12/17 Princeton University (Princeton, NJ) 2:30pm
Mon, 10/16/17 POSTPONED AND WILL BE RESCHEDULED THIS FALLLoras College (Dubuque, IA) TBA
Mon, 10/16/17 Johns Hopkins University (Baltimore, MD) 11:30am
Tues, 10/17/17 Marquette University (Milwaukee, WI) 9am
Tues, 10/17/17 Luther College (Decorah, IA) Noon
Tues, 10/17/17 University of South Dakota (Vermillion, SD) 1pm
Tues, 10/17/17 Indian Hills Community College (Ottuma & Centerville, IA) 2pm
 Mon, 10/23/17 Middlebury College (Middlebury, VT) 8:30am
Mon, 10/23/17 University of Nebraska (Lincoln, NE) 10am
Mon, 10/23/17 U.S. Navy  Lunches
Mon, 10/23/17 Northwestern College (Orange City, IA) 1pm
Thurs, 10/26/17 Buena Vista University (Storm Lake, IA) 11am
Thurs, 10/26/17 Millikin University (Decatur, IL) 11:45am
Thurs, 10/26/17 Mercy College of Health Sciences (Des Moines) 1pm
Fri, 10/27/17 Macalester College (St. Paul, MN) 9:30am
Mon, 10/30/17 Wartburg College (Waverly, IA) 11:15am
Wed, 11/1/17 Monmouth College (Monmouth, IL) 10:30am
Thurs, 11/9/17 Grand Canyon University (Phoenix, AZ) 10:30am
 Thurs, 11/16/17 Upper Iowa University (Fayette, IA)  10am
 Mon, 11/20/17 United States Naval Academy (Annapolis, MD) 10am