The Valley High School Hall of Honor was established to recognize outstanding alumni, educators, and community leaders who, through achievements, endeavors, leadership, and character, are positive role models for the student body of the West Des Moines Community Schools. These individuals have specifically dedicated their time and made significant contributions to the Valley High School community.

Valley High School Hall of Honor inductees are carefully selected by a committee of Valley High School and West Des Moines Community Schools staff and community members. Learn more about the selection process.

Valley High School Hall of Honor Inductees

2019 Inductees

Doug Buchanan, class of 1958, retired district administrator
Le Ann Finger, class of 1981, Arizona Golf Association director of tournaments and player development
Gerry Page, class of 1968, retired district administrator
Marj Wharff-White, retired district administrator, teacher, and coach
Tim Miller, retired district administrator

2018 Inductees

Dr. Phil Carter, class of 1957, neurosurgeon
Steve Gaer, class of 1979, West Des Moines Mayor
Peter Hedges, class of 1980, playwright, novelist, screenwriter, and film director
Vice Admiral Chuck Munns, class of 1968, retired U.S. Navy vice admiral
Cindy Todd, WDMCS parent and community volunteer
Jim Underfer, retired district teacher and wrestling coach

Learn more about the 2018 Valley High School Hall of Honor inductees.

2018 Valley High School Hall of Honor Reception