Fifteen Valley Students Named National Merit Scholarship Finalists

Congratulations to fifteen Valley High Schools students who have been named National Merit Finalists. Valley seniors Emma Bohn, Lucy Brown, Nathan Conte, Aarushi Dervesh, Christopher Jun, Chinar Kaul, Ariz Keshwani, Catherine Larson, Grace Matera, Varun Myneni, Anvay Pradhan, Joseph Swanson, Shubham Tayal, Linh Tran, and Oliver Willham have all advanced in the competition for National Merit scholarships.

Students who become National Merit scholars earn a $2,500 scholarship. Of the 1.5 million entrants, about 50,000 with the highest PSAT/NMSQT® Selection Index scores qualify for recognition in the National Merit® Scholarship Program. Academic records, school curriculum, test scores, an administrative recommendation, information about activities and leadership, and an essay are used in the judging process.

Students will be notified by the end of June if they have been selected as National Merit Scholars.