Iowa law requires a parent to verify proper immunization against diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis, polio, measles, mumps, rubella, hepatitis B and varicella to enroll in school. At least one dose of each immunization must be given before starting school. If your child has not received all of the following immunizations, you will need to work with the school nurse and their health care provider to set up a “catch-up” schedule.
Meningococcal for all Seventh- and 12th Graders – The State of Iowa has passed a new law, requiring the meningococcal (specifically A, C, W, Y) vaccine for students entering grades seven and 12, beginning with the 2017-18 school year. All incoming seventh- and 12th-grade students will need to submit a completed Certificate of Immunization with the Meningococcal (ACWY) vaccination. Meningococcal Immunization Requirement Fact Sheet
DTaP/Tdap (Diphtheria/Pertussis/Tetanus)—five doses with at least one dose after age 4 if born on or after September 15, 2003, OR four doses with at least one dose after the age of 4 if born after September 15, 2000, AND one time dose for applicants in grades seven and above, if born on or after September 15, 2000; regardless of the interval since that last tetanus/diphtheria containing vaccine.
Tdap Vaccine Booster for Seventh Graders—All students entering, advancing, or transferring into seventh grade and born on or after September 15, 2000, will need proof of an adolescent tetanus, diphtheria, and pertussis (whooping cough) booster immunization (called “Tdap”) for school in the fall.Tdap for Seventh-graders
Polio Booster—four doses with at least one dose received on or after age 4 if born after September 15, 2003, OR three doses with one dose given on or after age 4 if born on or before September 15, 2003.
MMR (measles, mumps, rubella)—two doses of measles and rubella vaccine (MR or MMR) are required. First dose given on or after 12 months of age, second dose received no less than 28 days after the first.
Hepatitis B—three doses are required.
Varicella (chicken pox)—two doses (the first on or after 12 months of age) if born on or after September 15, 2003, OR has a reliable history of disease.
Immunizations are available at the Polk County Health Department.
Call 515-286-3798 for an appointment.