School Community Network

The WDMCS is dedicated to involving our parents in what we do. Made up of parents, teachers and administrators from across the district, this group provides an opportunity for a face-to-face exchange of ideas and information. Its members also help us share information about district with the community.

Meetings of the School Community Network are typically the third Tuesday of the month starting at 9:15 a.m. at the Learning Resource Center, 3550 Mills Civic Parkway, West Des Moines, Iowa.


The  membership is outlined in district administrative rules. Membership includes:

  • two representatives from each K-12 parent organization board
  • two building staff members
  • one elementary and one secondary administrator
  • one administrative representative specifically from Valley High School
  • the Director of Community Education or designee
  • one representative from the school board
  • the superintendent or designee
  • members of the superintendency or designees
  • School/Community Relations Director

2019-20 Members

Building Representatives

  • Clive Learning Academy – Kim Jerdee and Jamie Lackey, parent group representatives
  • Crestview School of Inquiry –  Jill Porter and Tammy Skinner, parent group representatives
  • Crossroads Park Elementary – Emily Artikov and Greg Westerburg-Miller, parent group representatives
  • Fairmeadows Elementary – James Phillips and Amy Johnson, parent group representatives
  • Hillside Elementary -Breanna Owen,  parent group representative
  • Jordan Creek Elementary –  Heidi Fahler and Lauren Gill,  parent group representatives
  • Western Hills Elementary – Suzie Bean, Kelly Grimm, parent group representatives and George Panosh , elementary principal
  • Westridge Elementary –  Elizabeth Larson and Alissa Clark,  parent group representatives
  • Indian Hills Junior High – Missy Ringgenberg, Becky Reid Eschete, and Mary Williamson, parent group representatives; Shane Christensen, secondary principal
  • Stilwell Junior High -Erica Weeklund and Jill Croft,  parent group representatives
  • Valley Southwoods –  Alicia Emanuel, Stephanie Trannel, Alana Trimble, and Andi Lipman, parent group representatives; Mitch Kuhnert, secondary principal
  • Valley High School – David Maxwell, secondary administration representative; Brooke Acheson, Sue Fisher, Melinda Dunnwald, and Stephanie Horak,  parent group representatives
  • Walnut Creek Campus – Kim Davis, secondary principal

District/Other Members

  • Board of Education – Vicky Poole, school board member
  • Superintendency
    • Dr. Lisa Remy, superintendent
    • Paul Bobek,  chief financial officer
    • Michelle Lettington, associate superintendent of Teaching and Learning Services
    • Carol Seid, associate superintendent of Human Resources
  • Community Education –  Shahna Janssen, director of Community Education
  • Learning Supports/Family Engagement –
  • School/Community Relations – Laine Mendenhall-Buck, director of School/Community Relations
  • WDMCS Foundation – Tina Mowry-Hadden, Foundation president