Valley Band logo

Valley Symphony Band Picked To Perform At Iowa Bandmasters State Conference

Valley High School’s symphony band was recently selected to represented all Class 4A high school concert bands at the Iowa Bandmasters State Conference in Des Moines, the Iowa Bandmasters Association announced.

Performances at the 93rd annual conference will happen May 14-16 at the Des Moines Marriot Downtown. The 51-student ensemble is led under the direction of Band Director Josh Waymire.

This year, the IBA says, eight Iowa middle and high school bands were selected to perform. Bands submit records in early January, and are selected by a listening panel through a blind audition process.

“These bands are considered the premier performing ensembles in Iowa schools and selection at the IBA Conference is one of the highest honors awarded for any band in the state,” the IBA said.

In her Superintendent’s Report at the Monday, Feb. 24 board meeting, West Des Moines Community Schools (WDMCS) Superintendent Lisa Remy, Ed.D., applauded Valley’s symphony band for the honor.

“Mr. Waymire and our students have invested many hours of hard work to help make the Valley band an example that all other Iowa bands strive to emulate,” Dr. Remy said in the report. “I am very proud of our students and staff and appreciate the dedication, perseverance, and passion they have for music.”

Valley Symphony Band


  • Claire Cosier
  • Abby Deeds
  • Nina Dorr
  • Kenia Flores
  • Madeline Miller, Piccolo
  • Aditi Tripathy


  • Aviana Gedler
  • Elyse Shapiro


  • Sarah Blank
  • Elea Cooper
  • Oscar DeAvila
  • Madeline Echternacht
  • Riley Quick
  • Alana Scherer
  • Taylor Swain
  • Kathryn Wittrock

Bass Clarinet

  • Alyssa Joyce


  • Isaiah Aldiano
  • Thomas Brennan

Alto Sax

  • Keaton Clark
  • Oscar DeAvila
  • Alex Kurtt

Tenor Sax

  • Anna Borisenko

Bari Sax

  • Joseph Ramsey


  • Nate Bell
  • Joseph Correa
  • Sam Hanson
  • Henry Leaders
  • Alex Ling
  • Jake Umble
  • Marshall White


  • Sadie Carlson
  • Peter Erickson
  • Nick Feingold
  • Sarah Montgomery
  • Finn Nadel


  • Sam Harper
  • Kaitlyn Miller
  • Zander Muntz, Bass
  • Jamie Smith
  • Carter Wolford


  • Ayden Johnson
  • Alexa Noonan


  • Gwyn Chilcoat
  • Justin Graves


  • Veda Amalkar
  • Alex Bray
  • Ashwin Dervesh
  • Justin Hua
  • Anthony Murdoch
  • Katie Richards
  • Carson Tow