A Reader's Theatre Poster with two mime masks

Valley, Valley Southwoods Students Collect IHSSA Large Group All-State Honors

Valley High School and Valley Southwoods Freshman High School performed Feb. 7-8 at the Iowa High School Speech Association’s large group state competition at Waukee High School.

Valley recorded 16 total nominations that have qualified for the IHSSA all-state competition on Saturday, Feb. 22, at Iowa State University’s CY Stephens Auditorium — 15 of which will perform. Valley Southwoods had one nomination that will perform at all-state

Valley will receive the E. Wayne Cooley Sweepstakes Award at all-state, which is given to the school with the most performing entries. This is the 12th time in 19 years Valley has earned the honor. The award is named after longtime IGHSAU Executive Director, E. Wayne Cooley.

View the full listing of all-state nominations

Check out the schedule for the all-state competition

Performing groups at the all-state competition are noted in bold text with an asterisk.

Valley High School:

1-Act Play

“Clockwork: Or All Wound Up* Adapted by Ben Lilly, based on the novel by Philip Pullman.
Directed by Sarah Beth Weinberg. Assistant Director: Aaron Hunt. Head Stage Manager: Ellie Wellman. Assistant Stage Managers: Grace Derouin and Abby Kilpatrick. Crew Directed by Amanda Pichler. Crew: Ethan Amptman, Whisper Arbs, Riley Baldus, Brooke Boddicker, Seren Castellano, Emma DeJong, Zak Fleischman, Noah Goeders, Jordan Kazeze, Skylar Manna, Kendric Santos-Briggs, Eric Song.Performers: Ethan Amptman, Whisper Arbs, Riley Baldus, Jackie Boardman, Brooke Boddicker, Kellen Casper, Seren Castellano, Zane Coughennower, Bailee Dawson, Emma DeJong, Cal Fellows, Zak Fleischman, Savannah Fredregill, Noah Goeders, Hannah Grable, Aisling Hallahan, Derek Jessen, Audrey Johnson, Brooklyn Johnson, Annie Judge, Jordan Kazeze, Abby Kilpatrick, Celia Kuster, Andi Larson, Isabel Lewis, Nick Lewis, Claire Losh, Morgan Losh, MacKenzie Ludwig, Reagan Mann, Lanie Moore, Lucy Murugami, Jaelie Noglo, Grace Olsen, Azure Peterson, Karime Salamanca, Kendric Santos-Briggs, Alana Scherer, Sarah Schiess, Sahithi Shankaiahgari, Eric Song, Jacie Stewart, Luke Weeklund, Huda Wennerstrom, Libby White, Maya Williams, Quinn Williams.

Readers Theatre

“The Sad, Mysterious Tale of Baby Mine: The Iowa State Fair Elephant, Circa 1929”*
Directed by Stacy Hansen. Stage Managers: Nicole Embree, Rachel Spence. Cast: Isaiah Aldiano, Gavin Beedon, Abby Bishop, AJ Bleskacek, Ben Connolly, Allison Cook, Cate Dolphin, Maya Knudsen, Isabella Ksiazak, Joe Maxwell, Sydney Mixon, Suraj Moorjani, Jack Renda, Gabe Schebel, Eliza Sheffield.

Choral Reading

“Please Tell Me the Story of Emmett Till”*
Directed by Stacy Hansen. Stage Manager: Lauren Anderson. Cast: Eric Amundson, Landon Denker, Sarah Dorn, Zoe Dunham, Alfreda Jarue, Hunter Khongmaly, Ava Neppl, Ellie Penick, Jacob Soto, Kya Stilwell, Mary Thomas, Carson Tow, Zoey Tucker, Andrew Voggesser, Nick Wharff.

Ensemble Acting

“Faith on a Tuesday” by Thomas C. Dunn*
Directed by Charlie Reese. Performers: Michael Cunningham, Joey Furnald.

“‘Night, Mother” by Marsha Norman*
Directed by Allison Koontz. Performers: Abby Bishop, Ella Bishop.

Group Improvisation

Directed by Joe Van Haecke.
Performers: Grant DeWaay and Clay Stein.*
Kelly Dulaney and Madeline Shumaker.

Solo Mime

“The Time Traveler”*
Directed by Ted VanDeventer. Performer: AJ Bleskacek.

“The Eagle Huntress: A Soaring Tale of Trust and Companionship”*
Directed by Amanda Pichler. Performer: Isabella Ksiazak.

“Peter Parker, Origin Story: The Bullies, The Girl, The Homecoming Dance”*
Directed by Ted VanDeventer. Performer: Gabe Pruneda.

Television Newscasting

“The Day That Never Ended: Columbine After 20 Years”*
Directed by Glen Biermann and Justin Smith. Performers: Brynlea DeGroote, Nick Edgar, Savannah Fredregill, Andrew Gioffredi, Marleigh Heil, Lauren Lake, Suraj Moorjani, Lexi Ohringer, Carter Scallon, Sahithi Shankaiahgari, Ethan Tuttle, Hannah Walker.

Directed by Glen Biermann and Justin Smith. Performers: Tim Anson, Gabe Ferren, Noah Ferren, Kaitlyn Forney, Alyssa Joyce, Quinn Kelly, Kaylyn Le, Oliver Parizek, Bryan Stewart, Josh Studer, Ellie Wellman, Maya Williams.

Radio Broadcasting

Directed by Glen Biermann. Performers: Isaiah Aldiano, Cate Dolphin, Andrew Gioffredi, Marleigh Heil, Quinn Kelly, Bryan Stewart, Josh Studer.

Musical Theatre

Directed by Bryan Gamboa and Megan Helmers. Stage Manager: Ava Neppl. Performers: Landon Denker, Summer Dunham, Zoe Dunham, Avi Gedler, Will Johnson, Jacob Soto, Avi Kaufman, Nick Wharff.

“Sweeney Todd”*
Stage Manager: Isabel Lewis. Performers: Eric Amundson, Lanie Anthan, Connor Barnes, Ella Bishop, Chloe Edwards, Wyatt Glenn, Jack Renda, Mary Thomas.

“Toxic Avenger”*
Performers: Kade Ferchen, Hunter Khongmaly, Jackson Skahill, Kya Stilwell, Emilee Tilton, Carson Tow, Andrew Voggesser, Mia Wells

Valley Southwoods:

Readers Theatre

“The Rainbow Crow” by Rhiana Yazzie*
Directed by Maya Knudsen, Emilee Tilton, and Liz Meier. Performers: Christian Biwott, Bri Blevins, Cyd Denton, Andrew Dunahoo, Reese Gomez, Hanna Hardy, Bette Jess, Gabe King, Lillian Tuai.