School Board Election 2019 graphic

School Board Election 2019

Update (Oct. 2): Current Board member Melinda Dunnwald is not seeking re-election. This article has been edited to reflect that update.

School board elections will be held this year on Tuesday, Nov. 5. There will be four seats on the ballot.

The School Board

The school board represents the parents and citizens of our community. In the West Des Moines Community Schools (WDMCS), school board members are elected at-large, or represent the entire school district. They receive no compensation for their service.

Each school board member is elected for a term of four years. Terms are staggered to ensure continuity of leadership.

Candidate Information

A candidate must be an eligible elector in the school district at the time of the election. An eligible elector must be a citizen of the United States, be a resident of Iowa, and be at least 18 years old.

The filing period for school board candidates ended at 5 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 19. The following individuals have filed nomination papers:

  • Incumbent Liz Cox
  • Incumbent Jill Caton Johnson, Ph.D.
  • Jonas Cutler
  • Lonnette Dafney
  • Jeff Hicks
  • Jessica Worley

Current Board members David J. Brown and Melinda Dunnwald are not seeking re-election.

Get to Know Candidates for WDMCS School Board

Candidate Forum: Tuesday, Oct. 22

The West Des Moines Chamber of Commerce held a candidate forum from 6:30-8 p.m. on Tuesday, Oct. 22, at the WDMCS Learning Resource Center, 3550 Mills Civic Parkway, West Des Moines. The public was invited to meet all of the candidates for the WDMCS Board of Education and get the chance to ask them questions.

Remember to Vote: Tuesday, Nov. 5

Polls are open from 7 a.m. until 8 p.m.

Find Your Precinct Number (Polk County)

Find Your Polling Place     Register to Vote Online     Get an Absentee Ballot

Please see the following websites for additional information: