Valley congratulations gif

Fourteen Valley Students Named National Merit Semifinalists

West Des Moines Community Schools is proud to announce that 14 Valley High School students have been named 2020 National Merit Scholarship semifinalists. Congratulations to seniors Caroline Ash, Jeremy Bailey, Carsen Codel, Isabella Cook, David Gaunt, Ayden Johnson, Animesh Joshi, Brogan Kirkpatrick, Connor Liu, Isabella Nadel, Alana Scherer, Mary Thomas, Andrew Waters, and Kathryn Wittrock. The students will now be considered for National Merit Scholarship finalist standing.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced the names of approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 65th Annual National Merit Scholarship Program on Sept. 11. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. Over 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title. National Merit Scholarship winners of 2020 will be announced beginning in April and concluding in July.

These scholarship recipients may join the more than 80 National Merit Scholarship finalists who have attended Valley High School in the past 10 years.