Chinese Association of Iowa 2019 Awards

Peggy Epstein, Three Valley High School International Students Receive Awards From Chinese Association of Iowa

Peggy Epstein, executive assistant to Superintendent Lisa Remy, Ed.D., and West Des Moines Community Schools (WDMCS) Board of Education secretary, was recognized recently by the Chinese Association of Iowa with its Education Leadership Award. 

Epstein and three other honorees received the award Saturday, Feb. 2, at the annual Iowa Chinese Achievement Awards Ceremony at Grand View University.

headshot of Peggy Epstein

Peggy Epstein

The Education Leadership Award, the association says, is designed to recognize the exceptional leadership of active, front-line leaders who are making a difference in the lives of students every day.

“Peggy is very welcoming and helpful to families and students when then begin the enrollment process,” Remy said. “She makes connections right from the beginning with the student and family.”

Additionally, three current Valley High School international students were honored Saturday:

  • Volunteer of the Year: Yuyueyang Qiu
  • Youth Leadership Award: Zhonghong Dai
  • Youth of the Year Award: Lexi Li

Both Dai and Li recently transferred to WDMCS from Iowa Christian Academy. Qui initially came to WDMCS in 2017-18 as foreign exchange student, but returned as an international student this year.

Please join us in congratulating this group for these incredible accomplishments!

Interact with West Des Moines Community Schools on Twitter @WDMCS. “Like” West Des Moines Community Schools on Facebook: