Quincey Sander's and Jason Duchesneau

Life in the WDMCS 3/17/14

Life in the WDMCS is a weekly feature that highlights what is happening at each of our buildings. If a school is not listed, there was no submission from that building this week.

District Wide

If your child will be five years old on or before September 15, 2014, he/she will be eligible to start kindergarten in the fall. In April, parents of 2014-15 kindergartners are invited to Kindergarten Roundup at each elementary school. Check the district website or call your school for times. If you have not yet signed up your 2014-15 kindergartner, please visit www.wdmcs.org, click on the Newcomers tab and then on the Kindergarten link under Registration Information. Follow the steps listed to get your child’s name placed on our list. If you are not sure which building attendance area you live in, please call 633-5101.

Clive Elementary

The more that you read the more things you will know the more that you learn the places you’ll go!  –  Dr. Seuss
The students at Clive Elementary celebrated Dr. Seuss March 3-7.  Each morning started with school wide trivia.  All students had a chance to participate and there was a winner from each grade level every day.  Next, we dressed up like our favorite Dr. Seuss book character and celebrated his birthday will cupcakes and cookies!  Lastly, each teacher and classroom participated in a Seuss themed door decorating contest.  The classrooms were each assigned a different book and then their imaginations created amazing designs.

Crestview Elementary

Crestview sixth grade band students recently participated in the annual sixth grade band solo and ensemble festival. Students prepared a solo and performed it for a judge who gave them a rating of I+, I, II or III. The following students participated: Nathan Willcockson, Caleb Macias, Jordyn Hayes, Hailee Jorgensen, Gwyn Chilcoat, Kenia Flores, Jackie Martinez, Hailey Etzel, Katie Calzada, Yajaira Triana, Grace Hoepker, Laney Peters, Zoey Wieck, Isabella Nadel, Kyle Elmore, Tommy Weissenburger, Ethan Tuttle, Eric Paniagua, Cesilia Guzman and Katelyn Rieger. Students will receive a medal and certificate for their participation.

Fairmeadows Elementary

Congratulations to the following students who were selected to represent Fairmeadows Elementary in the 2014 All-District Sixth Grade Honor Choir – Claire Wiarda, Abigail Bylund, Gracie Coleman, Bella Zarling, Garrett Helm, Kaitlyn Bebensee, Aidan Drake, Kaitlyn Miller, Emma Slusinski, Jacque Truitt, Eliza Terranova-Tweedy, Gracie Hughes, Nick Feingold, Sarah Dorn, Grace Murphy, Hailey Carenza, Aliece Fox, Annalyn Poulsen and Keaton Parizek. These fine young musicians begin rehearsals March 28 and will be performing as part of the Honors Festival at Lutheran Church of Hope on Tuesday, May 6 at 7 p.m. Also performing in this Honors Festival will be the Honor Handbell representatives Gracie Hughes, Anthony Murdoch and Kaitlyn Bebensee.

Jordan Creek Elementary

Members of the Iowa State gymnastic team and their coaches helped students at Jordan Creek Elementary celebrate Dr. Seuss week by reading to several classes.  The team also visited Jeri Daniels’ fifth grade class and talked with the students about their workout schedules, class schedules, and their backgrounds.  The gymnasts shared with the students about their majors and what they plan to do after college.  Fifth grade students participated in a questions and answer time with the team.  Also present with the team were assistant coaches Kristen Maloney and Katie Minasola and Director of Gymnastics Operations Mary Ronayne. Assistant coach Kristen Maloney shared with the students about her trip to the Olympics in 2000 where she was part of the team that won a bronze medal.

Valley High School

For the sixth consecutive year, Valley debate has won the state championship in Lincoln-Douglas debate. Valley senior Jason Smith closed out the final round with junior Gina Scorpiniti, and the two were declared co-champions. The team of juniors Nolan Dahm and Sam Basler were semifinalists in policy debate. Valley also won the team sweepstakes award in Lincoln-Douglas debate and placed second in the overall sweepstakes. Other elimination round participants included Rishi Shah, Brody Diehn, Trent Gilbert, TJ Foley, Evan McKinney, Jackie Chu, Conal Thomas-McGinnis, Manuel Smith, Lexy Takla, Grady Stein, Brian Gu, Alissa Smith and Ashton Woiwood.

Written by Emma Sink BB President – February’s Buddy Pair of the Month, Cory Schneider and Will Lounsbury from Valley Best Buddies, were announced at the Best Buddies Iowa prom this past Saturday and awarded with Best Buddies bags and sunglasses! This buddy pair has a standing time each Sunday night when they go out to eat. Cory also likes to challenge Will to games of bowling frequently. Cory proudly shares with everyone that he wins every time. Valley’s Chapter President, Emma Sink, states, “Will and Cory spend a whole lot of time together each day. They are truly the best of friends and encourage each other. It’s fun to see them hanging out in the hallway together. There is usually a group of guys standing around talking with Cory. It’s great to see how much they are a part of each other’s day.”

The Valley and Valley Southwoods speech team had three students advance to All-State competition after receiving 16 overall I rankings at the state contest.. Senior Dani Lipman, junior Alex Johnson and freshman Grace Barker were selected to perform at All-State. Seven students received straight Is at the state competition – Taylor Mankle in Spontaneous Speaking, Hannah Kate Fox in Acting, Dani Lipman in Solo Musical Theater, Bre Katcher in Expository Speaking, Kenzie Hamlett in Oratory, Henry Parizek in Radio News Announcing, and Alex Johnson in Review. The rest of the team presenting quality speaking includes Maggie Wildermuth, Allison Moore, Mandy Brown and from VSW, Grace Barker and Lilly Seltz.

Walnut Creek Campus

Walnut Creek senior Kyle Shepherd performed at the IHSSA individual speech contest and received a I rating for his performance. Congratulations, Kyle!