Valley Team Wins Iowa Knowledge Bowl Championship

One of two teams from Valley High School won the Iowa Knowledge Bowl Championship on Oct. 30, 2015. The team — made up of junior students Jacob Bedia, Cayden Codel, Chris Loyd, Gabriel Mintzer, and Aidan Morrow — defeated 11 other qualifying teams to take first place.

The team qualified through an online exam earlier in October. For the final rounds, they answered general knowledge questions in eight rounds of competition: one written round and seven oral rounds. Up to five students could participate in the written round, which consisted of 50 questions in 30 minutes. Four team members answered 22 questions in 15 minutes for the oral rounds.

The three highest-scoring teams at the end of eight rounds advanced to compete in the live championship round, which consisted of 40 oral questions.

Valley High School teacher Nathan Speichinger is the sponsor and coach for both Valley High School knowledge bowl teams. The team members each won a three-credit fee waiver for Des Moines Area Community College, as well as a team trophy and ribbons.

Shubham Tayal, Linh Tran, Joe Swanson, Jack Kinseth, and Varun Myneni made up the other Valley knowledge bowl team.


Both Valley knowledge bowl teams. Not pictured: Aidan Morrow. (Photo source: Nate Speichinger)