“The Wizard of Oz” Earns 14 Iowa High School Musical Theater Awards

Valley High School’s spring musical, “The Wizard Oz,” has earned 14 Iowa High School Musical Theater Awards. The musical won three production awards: Outstanding Musical Production, Outstanding Ensemble and Outstanding Student Orchestra.

Seven student awards were also earned. Seniors Jared Freiburg as “Hickory/Tinman,” Jessica Martens as “Dorothy,” Chase Stine as “Zeke/Cowardly Lion” and Nicholas Wang as “Hunk/Scarecrow” all won Outstanding Performance in a Leading Role awards. Seniors Elizabeth Cleven as “Glinda” and Derek Pham as “Toto” both earned Special Recognition for Performance in a Supporting Role awards. Junior Lily DeTaeye and sophomores Jared Fisher and Kamden Lee won the Outstanding Achievement as Featured Dancers Award for their performance as the “Yellow Brick Road” as well.

Eight students also won Outstanding Achievement in a Creative or Technical Role — Team awards: the Head Production Assistants, seniors Cheyenne Hensley and Erin McCauley, and the Stage Management Team: juniors Kathryn Catellier, Reid Epstein and Katie Ringgenberg and sophomores Brillian Qi-Bell, Cheyenne Raney and Joshua Rodriquez. “The Wizard of Oz” also earned special recognition for Community Support and Participation of Community Youth.

An Awards Showcase will honor the students for their achievements at 7 p.m. on Monday, June 1, 2015. Valley High School students will also be featured at the showcase. Catellier will act as an assistant stage manager for the showcase. Seniors Keaton Denker, Dani Lipman, Anna Mokricky and Elisa Ramaekers will be featured as Interschool Medley Performers. Cleven and fellow seniors Andrew Han and Melanie Taylor will perform for the Senior Spotlight Medley. “The Jitterbug” dance was also selected as a cast excerpt.

The following students will perform the full excerpt during the showcase:

Seniors Freiburg, Han, Martens, Mokricky, Pham, Stine, Taylor, Wang, Rebekah Conard, Kathryn Daft, Leah DeClerck, Koral Glenn and Lauren Pfeil

Juniors Emily Carr, Isabelle Fidler, Ashley Gettinger, Melissa Grinvalds, Matthew Hrdlicka, Marissa Hudson, Ian Ksiazak, Augustine Mateo, Joshua Miksch, Angelina Mullican, Sharissa Patanapanich, Madison Stegman, Pearl Tate and Ramya Vemulapalli

Sophomores Sarah Braverman, Hanna Bush, Kyra Casper, Catherine Christian. Anne Marie Derouin, Courtney Graham, Cheyenne Hemmer, Grace Horvath, Abby McCullough, Meta Miller, Lizbeth Salinas-Reyes, Julie Sisler, Mara Smith, Elena Soto, Jack Standefer, Heather Stout and Justine Williamson

Started in 2012-13, the Iowa High School Musical Theater Awards are presented by the Des Moines Performing Arts non-profit organization. Thirty schools participated this year.