Sixteen Valley Students Named National Merit Scholarship Finalists

All 16 of Valley High Schools National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists have now been named National Merit Finalists. Valley High School seniors Elizabeth Ash, Zachary Bailey, Jacob Bedia, Cayden Codel, Emily Ellingson, Arjun Ganga, Trent Gilbert, Brian Gu, John Mahoney, Abby McCullough, Meta Miller, Gabriel Mintzer, Guowei Qi, Jared Shapert, Rachel Snodgrass, and Madison VanSickel have all advanced in the competition for National Merit scholarships.

Students who become National Merit scholars earn a $2,500 scholarship. Of the 1.5 million entrants, about 50,000 with the highest PSAT/NMSQT® Selection Index scores qualify for recognition in the National Merit® Scholarship Program. Academic records, school curriculum, test scores, an administrative recommendation, information about activities and leadership and an essay are used in the judging process.

Students will be notified by the end of June if they have been selected as National Merit Scholars.