“Oklahoma!” Earns 16 Iowa High School Musical Theater Awards

Valley High School Performing Arts Department Presents Rodgers & Hammerstein's "Oklahoma!" Music by Richard Rodgers, Book and Lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II Based on the play "Green Grow the Lilacs" by Lynn Riggs Nov. 4 and 5 at 7 p.m. Nov. 6 at 2 p.m. Tickets: $10/$12 Reservations: www.midwestix.com or 515-244-2771 Staplin Performing Arts Center, Valley High School, 2650 Woodland Ave., West Des Moines, IAValley High School’s fall musical, “Oklahoma!,” has earned 16 Iowa High School Musical Theater Awards. The musical won four production awards: Outstanding Musical Production, Outstanding Ensemble, Outstanding Student Orchestra and Outstanding Community Engagement.

Nine student awards were also earned. Seniors Logan Benson as “Laurey Williams, Becca Dorsett as “Aunt Eller,” and Jared Fisher as “Curly McLain” all won Outstanding Performance in a Principal Role awards. Seniors Sam Galligan as “Andrew Carnes,” Kamden Lee as “Will Parker” and Nic Lovan as “Ali Hakim” and junior Ethan Glenn as “Jud Fry” earned Special Recognition for Performance in a Principal Role.

The “Cowboys” ensemble (seniors Carter Burmester, Zac Johnson, Owen Snyder and Jack Standefer; juniors Preston Hayes and Jordan Potter; and sophomore Cole Strelecki) and “Saloon Girls/Mourners” ensemble (seniors Quin Grabinski and Heather Stout and juniors Emma Bohn, Camryn Cline, Allison Hutchinson and Ellie Willse) also earned Outstanding Achievement as Featured Dancers awards.

Eight student teams also won Outstanding Achievement in a Creative or Technical Role team awards. Seniors Beth Hammond and Justine Williamson and juniors Brianna Cole, Jolynne Craven and Abi Whitford earned an Outstanding Achievement in Painting award. The Outstanding Achievement in Properties award will be presented to seniors Nora Raine and Isabella Vettese; juniors Kiona Dodson and Kathryn Rozanek; and sophomores Marina Fredregill, Jessica Haugen, Emily Schnoor and Emma Williams. Senior Brillian Qi-Bell and Cheyenne Raney; juniors Quinn Herbert and Amy Wickenkamp; and sophomores Hadley Abbas and Carrie Cassady earned the Outstanding Achievement in Stage Management Award.

An Awards Showcase will honor the students for their achievements at 7 p.m. on Monday, June 5, 2017. Students will perform an excerpt from “Oklahoma!” at the showcase and participate in a collaborative, interschool medley led by guest Broadway music director Adam Jones and choreographer Sara Brians. Tickets to the showcase start at $15 and are on sale now at DMPA.org, the Civic Center Ticket Office, and by phone at 515-246-2300.

Started in 2012-13, the Iowa High School Musical Theater Awards are presented by the Des Moines Performing Arts non-profit organization. Sixty schools will be recognized this year.