Finalists Chosen for National Merit Program

Eleven Valley High School seniors have been named finalists in the National Merit Scholarship competition.

The students are Hanna Anderson, Julia Anderson, Keaton Denker, Lawrence Feng, Sunita Kolareth, Lauren Pfeil, Ojas Pradhan, Rishi Shah, William Sipfle, Ryan Thompson and Arun Velamuri.

High school students may take part in the National Merit Scholarship Program based on their PSAT/NMSQT scores and meeting entry requirements. Students with the highest index scores, which are based on critical reading, mathematics and writing skills, are notified in September that they have qualified as a commended student or a semifinalist.

Students recognized as semifinalists, which denotes them as the highest-scoring students in their state, then complete applications for the next round. Teens are notified in February if they have been chosen as a finalist. Their high schools are provided with certificates to present to the students.

In March, program organizers will begin to contact finalists selected for scholarships. Honorees are chosen to receive awards ranging from $2,500 National Merit scholarships to scholarship awards provided by corporations and colleges.