Our History


Since its inception in 1893 as the Valley Junction Independent School District until 1938 when it changed to the West Des Moines Community School District, and through today, our district continues to thrive in a growing community. Below are just a few highlights from the past 50+ years.

  • 2012 – Clegg Park Elementary is renovated and opened as the new Walnut Creek Campus
  • 2004 – Hillside Elementary opens at the site of the old stadium
  • 2002 – Valley Stadium opens
  • 1997 – Valley Southwoods Freshman High School opens to ease crowding at Valley High school. The idea of turning the WDMCS into a two high school district was not favored by the community.
  • 1995 – The Learning Resource Center is opened and Walnut Creek Campus, the district’s alternative high school, opens in the previous district office on 5th Street. Walnut Creek is eventually is moved to a renovated church next to the stadium on 8th Street.
  • 1992 – Jordan Creek Elementary opens
  • 1990 – Westridge Elementary opens and same year residents passed a $29.7 million bond issue, which was the largest ever in Iowa, to construct a new school and upgrade existing facilities
  • 1977 – November Crossroads Park Elementary opens and Indian Hills Junior High opens with students and parents helping move equipment and supplies from Hillside Junior High
  • 1971 – Valley becomes a four-year high school. The old high school becomes a junior high and is renamed Hillside Junior High
  • 1965 – Valley opens, but houses only a ninth grade class and two sixth grade classes from Fairmeadows
  • 1962 The West Des Moines district merged with the Clive school district, adding Clive and Crestview Elementaries. Clive Elementary was the site of the first experimental hot lunch program in Iowa in 1932.


1905 C.W. Lyons
1905-07 W.O. Reed
1908-13 E.J. Pollock
1913-16 George S. Wooten
1916-19 J.S. Hofer
1919-21 S.L. Miller
1921-25 C.B. Hightower
1925 C.I. Bixler
1926-33 W.H. Myers
1933-42 H.W. Fearing
1942-63 Amos C. Lee
Dr. Charles C. Joss
1967 Claude R. Snell
was acting superintendent
Dr. Dale L. Grabinski
Dr. Les Omatani
2004-11 Dr. Tom Narak
Dr. Peter Ansingh
Dr. Lisa Remy