10 Valley Students Named National Merit Scholarship Finalists

National Merit ScholarshipsValley High School seniors William Crichton, Kathryn Hoemann, Tarun Kadaru, Xiaoxue Liu, Elaine Mou, Daniel Pisman, Sam Schulte, Edward Tannenbaum, Mary Tobin and Luchang Wang have been named National Merit Scholar Finalists.

These students will be among 15,000 nationwide in competition to become a National Merit Scholar, earning a $2,500 scholarship. National Merit Scholars are chosen based on abilities, skills and accomplishments. Academic records, school curriculum, test scores, an administrative recommendation, information about activities and leadership as well as an essay are used in the judging process.

Students will be notified in June if they have been selected as a National Merit Scholar.