Skip to content
« Back to Blog Index

Outstanding Accomplishments in the WDMCS

Valley Marchmasters

The Valley Marchmasters had a great season, capped off by earning their 50th consecutive Division I rating at the IHMA contest. The drum majors are pictured with their award for best drum majors at the the Bands Across the Prairie Marching Band Festival.

Periodically throughout the school year, we compile a list of special honors and awards received by our students and staff. These outstanding accomplishments are presented to the School Board as Board Recognition. Check out all the great things our students and staff have accomplished!

Valley had 12 seniors named as semifinalists for the 2012 National Merit Scholarship Competition: William Chrichton, Kathryn Hoemann, Tarun Kadaru, Xiaoxue Liu, Elaine Mou, Daniel Pisman, Bernhard Saggau, Samuel Schulte, Moses Sloven, Edward Tannenbaum, Mary Tobin and Luchang Wang. These students will have the opportunity to be named finalists, with any finalists being able to earn the National Merit Scholarship. Commended students in the program were Jessica Au, Katrina Bopp, Trevor Bridge, Keegan Brown, Stephen Davick, Philip Dobrinov, Aleksey Gubyn, Andrew Halterman, Tasha Himes, Hanna Howard, Scott Johnson, Nathan Marshall, Grace Seidlin and Takashi Yanagi.

Spotlight, the student newspaper for Valley High School, has been awarded the International First Place Award from the 2011 News Media Service from Quill and Scroll.   This covers the newspapers printed in the 2010-11 school year. Quill and Scroll is an international honorary society for high school journalists associated with the School of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Iowa.
Advisor: Diane Hicks

Valley’s Student Government received a commendation and thank you from the American Red Cross for last year’s fourth quarter fund raiser to provide funds for the relief efforts in Japan in the aftermath of the March 2011 earthquake and tsunami.

Senior Moses Sloven advanced to quarterfinals at the Yale University Invitational and received his first bid of the year to the 2012 Tournament of Champions.

At the season opener at the University of Northern Iowa, the teams of junior Morgan Torbert and freshman  Rishi Shah; and sophomores Thomas and Catherine Leafstedt, were both in semifinals in varsity policy debate. In varsity Lincoln-Douglas debate,
senior Moses Sloven was the tournament champion (without dropping a ballot), while sophomore Jason Smith was in semifinals and
senior Keegan Brown and junior Nanticha Lutt were both in quarterfinals. In novice Lincoln-Douglas, eighth grader Derek Lutt placed second, while freshmen Sunita Kolareth and Alissa Smith were in quarterfinals.

At the Indianola Intrigue competition, the team won its second championship. In novice Lincoln-Douglas debate, freshman Gina Scorpiniti was the tournament champion with a perfect record of eight wins and no losses, dropping only one ballot throughout the tournament. Freshman Alyssa Tainter was in semifinals and freshmen Lexi Takla and Sunita Kolareth were
both in quarterfinals. In novice policy debate, the team of freshmen Brody Diehn and Travis Smith made it to the quarterfinals. In public forum debate, the team of seniors Will Crichton and Luchang Wang were in semifinals.
Coaches: Dave McGinnis, Gracie Brandsgard, Steve Renzi, Alex Kramer, Sophie Ruff, Josh Miller, David Basler

Students and staff will be representing the WDMCS in the Opus Honor Choir this year: Valley Southwoods – Jillian Belieu, Cooper Christensen, Liz Cleven, Bailey Cook, Anna Davidson, Keaton Denker, Jared Freiburg, Maria Lind, Dani Lipman, Zachery Love, Claire Maly, Jessica Martens, Lauren Pfeil, Elizabeth Reed, Megan Smith, Katherine Smoldt (alternate) and Daniel Soto directed by Heather Nail  and Jaqui Scanes; Indian Hills Junior High – Cayden Codel, Anthony Reno and Ben Willcockson directed by Rebecca Woodburn; Stilwell Junior High – Grant Hillenbrand, Bridget Shoemaker and Pearl Tate directed by Kathy Gedler.

The Valley Marchamsters earned their 50th consecutive Division I rating at the IHSMA State Marching Band Contest. The Marchamsters also won the Mid-Iowa Marching Championships in Ankeny, the Linn-Mar Marching Band Festival and the Bands Across the Prairie Marching Band Festival, where the group won awards for best percussion, best winds and best drum majors.
Director: Roxianne Classen

Stilwell band students who earned a spot in the South Central Iowa Bandmasters District Honor Band are Joe Brennan, Noah Tuttle and Evan Sandberg on trombone; Brittany Burklund on percussion; Siulley Vuong on flute and Salena Bantz on oboe. They will perform November 1 in Johnston.
Directors: Bobbi Garringer and Jon Lewis.

Then senior  Hailey Jensen,  then juniors Allyson Swartz and Laney Abrahamson and then sophomore Callie Brown were named to the first-team all-CIML Iowa Conference softball team. Second team honorees were then juniors Kaye Taylor and Laura Milligan and then freshman Rachel Bakey. Honorable mention went to Megan Brady. The team shared the Iowa Conference championship with Waukee.
Coaches:  Tom Bakey, Randy Ripperger

The VHS baseball team also finished as co-champions of the CIML Iowa Conference, sharing the title with Mason City. The Tigers earned five spots on the first team with awards going to then senior David Stagg and then juniors Jeff Pullen, Austin Stephens, Nolan Lodden and Brody Baumann. Then senior Zach Sims and then junior Jake Pauley were named to the second team, while Nate Whitham, Tanner Hinkle and Trevar Seibert received honorable mention.
Coaches: Ryan Cooley, Brady Weber

The Valley boys golf team won the state championship, led by individual state champion sophomore Jeff Swegle and individual runner-up senior Tomas Gouveia.
Coaches: Tracy Johnson Randy Hutchison

Jamie Bullington, Rachel Larson, Erica Lyons and Kirstie Overton were named all-state cheerleaders, with Carissa Just as  an honorable mention pick. They were chosen out of more than 200 of the best varsity cheerleaders in Iowa after tryouts Oct15-16. They will perform with the all-state cheerleading squad at the boys state basketball tournament in March.
Coaches: Beth Aanonson

Dr. Angela Calhoun, the district’s director of special education, successfully passed the defense of her dissertation at Drake University to earn her doctorate in August.

Topics: Education